Walking in a Winter DC-land (DC Snow Storms).

14 02 2010

During the past week, Washington, DC has been an interesting place. There has been little talk about politics or any other news for that matter. The topic of the week was snow. Back to back blizzards buried the Washington, DC area leaving it crippled. Most people got extended winter “vacations” as a result of being snowed in and impassable roads. Folks lucky enough to return to work on Friday were greeted with snarled traffic.

The storms received a variety of names. Names such as Snomagaddon, Snowpacalypse, Snoverkill, and Snowtorious B.I.G. were among those commonly used by news outlets. It became trendy to use the word snow in any way possible. I will do my best to avoid doing the same in this post.

Yesterday afternoon I made an intentional effort to get out of the house for a few hours. I decided to see where I could get to in Washington, DC. I ended up at the U.S. Capitol Building and was surprised to find the area relatively busy with both tourists and locals enjoying the cold windy day. OK, maybe it was only the locals enjoying the weather. I was able to capture some unique photographs as it is not too often that the DC area receives 2-3 feet of snow.

While at the Capitol,  I overheard two people talking about some kids sledding on the hills in front  of the Capitol. Apparently this is a practice not normally permitted by the U.S. Capitol Police. But this week was different. Senator Dodd (Conn.) was able to “convince” the Capitol Police to relax this rule to allow local children that have been snowed in for the week to get out and enjoy the weather. According to a new article, sledding will only be permitted this weekend. Some kids took advantage of a unique DC sledding experience! Political parties aside, I was relieved that someone was using the Capitol Building for something useful.

While walking around the Capitol Grounds, I also made a “new” discovery. There’s a small brick “building” on the northwest side of the grounds. I had always thought that this building was a defunct public restroom facility. In fact, it is known as the Summer House.  This open-air brick building is a resting place and shelter to visitors.  To go back to my first statement in this paragraph…this was a new discovery to me. The rest of the world already  knew what this building is. From the Summer House, I was able to capture this shot, which is also my first attempt at an HDR image.

It was a nice afternoon to get out and enjoy DC. Many others were doing the same. You may visit my Washington, DC gallery and see other shots from this weekend by clicking on any of the images in this post.

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 02 2010
J Robinowitz

Thanks for the comment. You’ve got some nice shots here, I especially like the last one in this post.

16 02 2010
kkhphotos

Great shots! I am not missing that part of the country this winter! Keep warm!

Leave a Reply

