12 Significant Photos: #11

18 02 2009

A little over a year ago, I purchased a wide-angle lens for my camera. The lens, a Sigma 10-20mm, is one that I really enjoy shooting with because of the unique perspectives it can help me capture. During my first day out with the lens, I was able to visit the U.S. Capitol Building and the surrounding area. The day was rather dreary, which led to a great shot of the United States Supreme Court Building.

The U.S. Supreme Court on a cloudy day.

The U.S. Supreme Court on a cloudy day.

The Supreme Court is often a quieter location to visit in DC. This leads to the opportunity to get many photos without people climbing the stairs looking around. The wide angle lens allowed me to capture the large approach to the building. I felt that the sky and the overall contrast of the image led to a great opportunity for black and white, which seems to feed the mood of this image.

Here are some additional photos of Washington, DC.

Actions

Information

One response

19 02 2009
Antsy

Beautiful black and white! From the additional photos, the ones with the columns are really cool. I especially liked the one titled “holding up the sky” and the Hishhorn Abstract.

Leave a Reply

