Architecture Photography: Capitol Columns

28 01 2009

One of my favorite subjects to shoot is the Capitol Columns located at the National Arboretum in Washington, DC. The columns were removed from the U.S. Capitol Building in 1958 during a building project and later placed at the Arboretum as part of a “newly” created landmark.

The Capitol Columns at the National Arboretum in Washington, DC

The Capitol Columns at the National Arboretum in Washington, DC

The columns are a fun subject to shoot for a few reasons. First, it is rarely crowded. The arboretum is off of the beaten path and only draws large crowds during a few parts of the year. This makes it accessible from a photography perspective. Next, the columns were included in a nice design that works with the natural lay of the land and includes a fountain and reflecting pool. No DC scene is complete without a reflecting pool! And most importantly, I enjoy the columns because of the abstract nature of them.

Holding Up the Sky

Holding Up the Sky

The shot to the left, “Holding Up the Sky”, is one of my first photos of the Capitol Columns and one of my favorite shots to this day. While I have found different perspectives that make strong photographs, I often find myself comparing shots to this one. I have yet to find a home for this shot on a wall, but hope to soon!

I still have my hopes set on photographing the columns after a newly fallen snow. But that doesn’t seem to happen much in these parts. It snowed (a whole inch!) earlier today and is currently icing, but I’m not sure that I’ll have the opportunity to chase that shot.

An Upward View

An Upward View

I would encourage anyone that has an interest in a unique photography subject or just likes to see unusual stuff to stop by the National Arboretum to check out the Capitol Columns. The arboretum also has a variety of plant, tree, and flower life (who would have thunk it?) and plenty of recreational space.

Actions

Information

One response

28 01 2009
Ed

Very nice, I need to get to DC one day.

Leave a Reply

